Economic impacts

What we do

Pandemic crises increase the importance of fiscal policy because of pressures on public budgets and widening inequalities of income and wealth. The project will analyse the macroeconomic consequences of crisis measures and characterise fiscal policies optimal during and after crises, taking into account the importance of inequality and heterogeneity. The main goal – and challenge – is provision of macroeconomic analyses of fiscal and monetary policy based on proven facts and modern quantitative economic theory.

Ctirad Slavík, Ph. D.

Position: Head of research group
+420 224 005 121 ctirad.slavik@cerge-ei.cz

Press Releases

All
Polarisation and populism
Press Releases
Press Releases 

Economist: The costs of shrinking classes outweigh the benefits

08.11.2023
Press Releases 

SYRI Annual Conference to focus on systemic risks

23.10.2023
Press Releases 

SYRI conducts first major studies

06.01.2023
Press Releases 

Expert: Czechia on verge of short-term recession

27.12.2022
Press Releases 

Czech fiscal policy lacks long-term perspective

20.10.2022
Press Releases 

SYRI helps to strengthen position of Czech social sciences in global context

12.10.2022
Press Releases 

Unique social science institute created in Czech Republic for research of risk situations

04.08.2022

Publications

People

Volha Audzei Ph.D.

Position: Senior researcher
vaudzei@cerge-ei.cz

Doc. Jan Čapek Ph.D.

Position: Senior researcher
+420 549 493 283 Jan.Capek@econ.muni.cz 

Alexander Hansak Ph.D.

Prof. PhDr. Tomáš Havránek Ph.D.

Doc. PhDr. Zuzana Havránková Ph.D.

Anna Houštecká Ph.D.

Position: Senior researcher
Anna.Houstecka@iab.de

Mgr. Jakub Chalmovianský

Position: Junior researcher
Jakub.Chalmoviansky@econ.muni.cz

Mgr. Ondřej Kameník

Position: Senior researcher
ondra.kamenik@gmail.com

Ing. Michaela Kecskésová

Position: Junior researcher
Michaela.Kecskesova@econ.muni.cz

doc. Ing. Michal Kejak M.A., CSc.

Position: Senior researcher
+420 224 005 186 michal.kejak@cerge-ei.cz

Ing. Renata Kosíková MSc.

Position: Junior researcher
Renata.Kosikova@econ.muni.cz

Ing. Aleš Maršál M.A., Ph.D.

Position: Senior researcher
+420 777 071 297 ales.marsal@gmail.com  

PhDr. Ján Palguta Ph.D., M.A.

Position: Senior researcher
jan.palguta@econ.muni.cz  

Ing. Mgr. Vlastimil Reichel Ph.D.

Ctirad Slavík Ph. D.

Position: Head of research group
+420 224 005 121 ctirad.slavik@cerge-ei.cz

Doc. Sergey Slobodyan Ph.D.